Herzlich Willkommen bei MUGI

  • (PDF)
  • (100%)
  • DeutschEnglish
  • Cosima Wagner

    by Eva Rieger
    Cosima Wagner, Fotografie von Jacob Hilsdorf, 1905.
    Names:
    Cosima Wagner
    Birth name: Cosima Francesca Gaetana de Flavigny
    Married name: Cosima Francesca von Bülow
    Lebensdaten:
    b in Bellassio, Königreich Lombardei [heute: Bellagio, Italien]
    d in Bayreuth, Germany
    Activities:
    Chronicler of Richard Wagner, director of the Bayreuth Festival and opera director

    Profile

    Cities and countries

    Cosima Wagner, née de Flavigny was the illegitimate daughter of Countess Marie d’Agoult (née de Flavigny) and the composer and pianist Franz Liszt. She grew up in Paris, living with Liszt’s mother. After a period of residence in Weimar, Liszt sent her to Franziska von Bülow, the mother of his student the pianist, composer and conductor Hans von Bülow. Hans and Cosima married and lived in Berlin until the composer Richard Wagner invited them to join him in Munich and assist him in performances of his works. It was in Munich that Cosima von Bülow left her husband, joining Richard Wagner in Tribschen near Lucerne in Switzerland in 1868. They subsequently married and in 1872 they moved with their children to Bayreuth where Richard Wagner was planning his festival theatre. This opened in 1876 and since then has been devoted exclusively to Richard Wagner’s works. Cosima Wagner remained resident in Bayreuth until her death.

    Biography


    The background and biography of the “Mistress of Bayreuth”, the “Keeper of the Grail” or “Meisterin”, as Cosima Wagner was variously called, were sensational. Her birth was the result of a love affair between the Countess Marie d’Agoult and the famous pianist and composer Franz Liszt. She herself rushed into an ill-considered marriage with the conductor Hans von Bülow in 1857 (“how it came about that we married is something I still don’t know … the wedding happened without any mood, motion or consideration on my part”). She wrote articles for a French newspaper, played the piano (although an excellent pianist, she never performed in public), attended concerts, operas and plays, and was not merely highly gifted artistically, but also very interested in cultural matters. Then the composer Richard Wagner fell in love with Cosima – 24 years his junior – and she reciprocated. The ensuing years were agonizing, as she was still officially von Bülow’s wife and was the mother of his two children (Daniela and Blandine). Whereas Peter Wapnewski claims that “This nun shunned sensuality as the devil would avoid holy water”, Robert Gutman invented the myth of her “highly strung sexuality”. She presumably never rid herself of her feelings of guilt for her betrayal of Hans von Bülow. During this time she gave birth to a daughter, Isolde, and although Wagner was the father she was named von Bülow for reasons of decorum. Cosima had to mediate for Wagner in Munich in his dealings with King Ludwig II (who was financing him), and she essentially ran two households. Wagner was renting a house in Tribschen near Lucerne, where she joined him permanently in 1868 and where their daughter Eva and son Siegfried were born. The latter was only baptized after Cosima had officially divorced in 1870, so that he might bear the name “Wagner”. In that same year, Cosima and Richard married. In 1872 the family moved from Tribschen to Bayreuth, where Wagner founded his festival theatre, built with the help of donations. It was inaugurated in 1876 with the world première of the Ring of the Nibelung. After Richard Wagner’s death in 1883, Cosima took charge of the Festival herself, only handing it over to her son Siegfried in 1906 on account of ill health. Cosima’s great cultural, historical achievement lay in her management of the Festival. As early as 1884 she drew up a five-year festival plan, and began to direct operas there herself in 1886. She displayed unprecedented energies in this task, achieved performances of high quality, and thereby ensured the survival of the Festival as an institution. She became a kind of “model widow” who adopted the ideology of her husband entirely, including his anti-Semitic shortcomings.

    She assumed full control in 1886 with her production of Tristan, even designing the sets, determining the lighting and all other details – though she consistently adhered to the ideas behind the two productions in Munich in 1865 and Berlin in 1876 that Wagner had himself planned. Above and beyond this, she made an intensive study of the scores and applied her own observations of the stage design and the manner of singing and acting. To interpret this as obstinacy, as is stated in her biographies, merely demonstrates that her gender stood in the way of her success from the very start. After the performances of Parsifal in 1888, it was clear that the Festival was both a stable institution and a major force in Germany whose future was no longer in doubt. In 1886, a modern cyclorama system was considered but not introduced. However, in 1898 Cosima decided to collaborate with the set designer Max Brückner to create new sets to replace the “magic garden” in the second act of Parsifal that had so delighted Wagner himself. In 1891, Cosima took on the task of producing Tannhäuser, and tracked down everything that had even the slightest connection with the work. Lohengrin was performed in 1894 and was well-received in the press. These were followed in 1901 by The flying Dutchman, though Cosima by no means took the Munich production of 1864 as her model – for the preparations for that production had not been complete by the time of its performance. Instead, she applied her own interpretative ideas to the production. In 1906, Cosima produced a new version of her Tristan staging. According to Fabian Kern, the sources reveal that she indeed dared to venture into the realm of the Modern. She did not restrict herself merely to copying old productions, but was open to new things.

    Over the space of 23 years, Cosima’s hard work resulted in a total of 220 performances that enabled her to turn Bayreuth into an event of worldwide stature. As Stephan Mösch has convincingly argued, Cosima’s direction teased out the timeless, symbolic aspects of the works, and in the process occasionally went beyond Wagner’s own production instructions. We can hear this in Hans Knappertsbusch’s early recording of The flying Dutchman; he had been an assistant in Bayreuth from 1909 to 1912, and was therefore well acquainted with Cosima Wagner’s ideas. At the end of the duet in the second act, Wagner makes a kind of “cut” in which he has Daland appear, disturbing the couple. Knappertsbusch ignores this, however, instead using the first measures of the allegro vivace as a continuation of the duet. He would surely not have dared to do this without Cosima Wagner’s example. And with her cuts to Rienzi, which she directed in Berlin, Cosima succeeded in turning “the historical, colossal tableau into a timeless symbol”. It was her overall endeavour to maintain Wagner’s staging ideas as much as possible on the one hand, while emphasizing the symbolic, cultic, universal aspects of the action on the other. In 1906, ill health prompted her to pass on the directorship of the Festival to her son Siegfried. Her tireless advocacy of Richard Wagner’s oeuvre led Berlin University to award her an honorary doctorate in 1910. Isolde, her first child by Wagner, began legal proceedings in 1913 in order to ensure the position of her own son Franz Wilhelm Beidler as a possible heir to Bayreuth. But Cosima denied that Wagner was her father, and refused to receive Isolde. Cosima made Siegfried the sole heir to the Wagner dynasty, and was able to do so because Wagner himself had left no will. She also went about collecting all possible documents, letters and other materials on Richard Wagner, though she purged these by committing unwelcome documents to the flames (including her own correspondence with Richard, his correspondence with Mathilde Wesendonck and with his first wife Minna). Her collection formed the basis of the archives in the Villa Wahnfried, most of which were later transferred to the Richard Wagner National Archive through the creation of a foundation. Cosima and her son Siegfried died within several weeks of each other in 1930.

    Appreciation

    Cosima’s great cultural achievement lay in drawing up a five-year plan for the Festival as early as 1884 – i.e. just one year after Richard Wagner’s death – and her own staging of operas there from 1886 onwards. She displayed unprecedented energies in her task, achieved performances of high quality and thereby ensured the survival of the Festival as an institution.

    Reception

    The image of Cosima Wagner is still characterized to an equal degree by hagiography on the one hand and hateful tirades on the other. Thus we find her both placed on a pedestal, idealized and venerated, as in du Moulin-Eckart, in Mollenkovitch-Morold and in the right-wing, conservative adherents of the Bayreuther Blätter and their cohorts; but we also find her stylized as a hard, power-conscious woman possessed of a “masochistic personality disorder”. In other words, she has been pathologized, as for example in Oliver Hilmes’s biography of her (Hilmes 2007, p. 160). Hilmes barely pays attention to Cosima Wagner’s real achievement – the continuation of the Bayreuth Festival. According to him, she afforded her widowhood a “theatrical” intensification (Hilmes 2007, S. 280). Her almost slavish readiness to give herself to Wagner and to follow him is a reflection of her having internalized the role of woman as was accepted at the time. But her desire to maintain Wagner’s heritage was also a source of inspiration to her, for as a talented musician herself she had recognized the extraordinary potential of this artist, who holds a unique position in music history.

    Sources

    Research

    The most important research site is currently the Richard Wagner National Archive in Bayreuth, which holds letters, writings, pictures, autographs and other material from the possession of the Wagner family, along with appropriate documentation. The Bavarian State Library in Munich however, also holds important material, including the Gravina archives and archives from figures in Wagner’s circle. In 1935, Cosima Wagner’s daughter Eva Chamberlain gave her mother’s comprehensive diaries to the city of Bayreuth as a “gift to the Richard Wagner memorial institution”, though with rigorous restrictions pertaining to access. The period of embargo ran out in 1972, and the diaries were published in 1976. They are among the most important sources for Wagner research.

    Need for research

    It would be desirable for future biographical work on Cosima to pay closer attention to her achievements as an opera director. From a gender perspective, there is a lack of a new biography that would link and contextualize Cosima Wagner’s restorative philosophy with her concurrent readiness to abandon societal conventions.

    Only a small portion of her correspondence has been published. Hundreds of unpublished letters are held primarily by the Richard Wagner National Archive in Bayreuth, but are also scattered across numerous other libraries and archives. Whereas, for example, research into Robert and Clara Schumann has made progress with the regular publication of volumes of their letters, research has stagnated in Bayreuth, despite the sources held there. An edition of Cosima’s letters to her friend, the Countess Marie von Schleinitz, for example, would undoubtedly be of interest to research.

    Cosima Wagner’s anti-Semitism finds extreme expression in her private letters, though it remains a matter of debate whether it was intensified by Richard Wagner or whether it was present from her own childhood and youth onwards. It will take a long time for the unhappy polarization of Cosima – veneration on the one hand, contempt on the other – to lead to a less one-sided depiction. The original feminist impulse according to which women are always victims is, however, obsolete, and must make way for further research.

    Normdaten

    Virtual International Authority File (VIAF): 39385271
    Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (GND): 118628232
    Library of Congress (LCCN): n50021342
    Wikipedia-Personensuche

    Autor/innen

    Eva Rieger, 31 July 2014

    Translation: Chris Walton


    Bearbeitungsstand

    Redaktion: Regina Back (deutsche Fassung) und Meredith Nicollai (English version)
    Zuerst eingegeben am 02.09.2014
    Zuletzt bearbeitet am 19.04.2017


    Empfohlene Zitierweise

    Eva Rieger, Artikel „Cosima Wagner“ (English version, translated by Chris Walton), in: MUGI. Musikvermittlung und Genderforschung: Lexikon und multimediale Präsentationen, hg. von Beatrix Borchard und Nina Noeske, Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg, 2003ff. Stand vom 19.4.2017
    URL: http://mugi.hfmt-hamburg.de/Artikel/Cosima_Wagner

Herzlich Willkommen bei MUGI

  • (PDF)
  • (100%)
  • DeutschEnglish
  • Cosima Wagner

    von Eva Rieger
    Cosima Wagner, Fotografie von Jacob Hilsdorf, 1905.
    Namen:
    Cosima Wagner
    Geburtsname: Cosima Francesca Gaetana de Flavigny
    Ehename: Cosima Francesca von Bülow
    Lebensdaten:
    geb. in Bellassio, Königreich Lombardei [heute: Bellagio, Italien]
    gest. in Bayreuth, Germany
    Tätigkeitsfelder:
    Wagner-Chronistin, Festspielverwalterin und Regisseurin

    Profil

    Cosima Wagners eigentliche Lebensleistung lässt sich auf zwei Punkte zurückführen: a) die Unterstützung, die sie Richard Wagner, ihrem zweiten Ehemann, zukommen ließ, b) die Realisierung seiner Werke und c) die Fortsetzung und Konsolidierung der Bayreuther Festspiele, die 1876 eröffnet wurden und 1883 nach Richard Wagners Tod eingestellt zu werden drohten. Nach einer Bedenkzeit übernahm sie die Leitung bis 1906 und führte sämtliche Opern (bis auf die frühen Opern) ihres verstorbenen Mannes unter eigener Regie auf.

    Orte und Länder

    Cosima Wagner, geb. de Flavigny, die uneheliche Tochter der Gräfin Marie d’Agoult (geb. de Flavigny) und des Komponisten und Pianisten Franz Liszt wuchs in Paris bei ihrer Großmutter, der Mutter von Franz Liszt, auf. Liszt schickte sie nach einem Aufenthalt in Weimar zu Franziska von Bülow, der Mutter seines Schülers, des Pianisten, Komponisten und Dirigenten Hans von Bülow. Sie heirateten, blieben in Berlin, bis der Komponist Richard Wagner sie und Hans von Bülow einlud, zu ihm nach München zu ziehen und ihm bei den Aufführungen seiner Werke beizustehen. Dort verließ Cosima von Bülow ihren Mann und zog 1869 zu Richard Wagner nach Tribschen bei Luzern in die Schweiz. 1872 zog das inzwischen verheiratete Paar mit den Kindern nach Bayreuth, weil Richard Wagner ein Festspielhaus plante, das 1876 eröffnet wurde und das bis heute ausschließlich Wagners Werke spielt. Cosima Wagner blieb bis zu ihrem Tod in Bayreuth.

    Biografie

    Leben wie Herkunft der „Herrin von Bayreuth“, „Hüterin des Grals“ oder „Meisterin“, wie man Cosima Wagner nannte, waren spektakulär. Sie entstammte einer freien Liebesverbindung zwischen der Gräfin Marie d’Agoult und dem berühmten Pianisten und Komponisten Franz Liszt, stürzte sich 1857 in eine unüberlegte Ehe mit dem Dirigenten Hans von Bülow („wie es kam, dass wir heirateten, weiß ich jetzt noch nicht ... ohne eine Laune meinerseits, ohne eine Bewegung, namentlich ohne ein Grübeln kam es zur Hochzeit”), schrieb Artikel für eine französische Zeitung, spielte als exzellente Pianistin Klavier (nie jedoch öffentlich), besuchte Konzerte, Opern und Theaterstücke und war nicht nur künstlerisch hochbegabt, sondern auch kulturell sehr interessiert. Dann verliebte sich der Komponist Richard Wagner in die 24 Jahre jüngere Frau, und sie erwiderte die Liebe. Eine quälende Zeit begann, da sie noch offiziell von Bülows Ehefrau war und zwei Kinder mit ihm hatte (Daniela und Blandine). Während Peter Wapnewski behauptet, „Sinnlichkeit scheut diese Nonne wie der Teufel das Weihwasser”, erfindet Robert Gutman die Mär von ihrer „hochgespannten Sexualität”. Vermutlich ließen ihre Schuldgefühle wegen des Betruges an Hans von Bülow sie nie los. Während dieser Zeit wurde Isolde geboren, die aus Schicklichkeitsgründen den Nachnamen von Bülow erhielt, obwohl Wagner der Vater war. Sie musste in München für Richard Wagner bei König Ludwig II. (der Wagner finanziell unterstützte) vermitteln und führte zugleich zwei Haushalte. In Tribschen bei Luzern, wo Wagner ein Haus mietete und sie 1869 hinzog, wurden Tochter Eva und Sohn Siegfried geboren. Letzterer wurde erst getauft, nachdem Cosima 1870 offiziell geschieden worden war, so dass er den Nachnamen „Wagner“ tragen konnte. Noch im gleichen Jahr heirateten Cosima und Richard Wagner. Die Familie zog 1872 von Tribschen bei Luzern nach Bayreuth, wo das von Wagner initiierte und mit Hilfe von Spenden gebaute Festspielhaus errichtet und 1876 mit der Uraufführung des „Ring des Nibelungen“ eingeweiht wurde. Nach Richard Wagners Tod 1883 führte Cosima die Festspiele in eigener Regie weiter, bis sie aus gesundheitlichen Gründen 1906 die Leitung an den Sohn Siegfried weitergab. Ihre große kulturgeschichtliche Leistung bestand darin, schon 1884 einen fünfjährigen Festspielplan zu entwerfen und ab 1886 Opern selbst zu inszenieren, wodurch sie mit beispielloser Energie künstlerisch hochstehende Aufführungen gewährleistete und somit das Fortbestehen der Institution ermöglichte. Sie wurde zu einer Art Modellwitwe, die alle ideologischen Ansichten, einschließlich antisemitischer Ausfälle, von Richard Wagner übernahm.

    1886 übernahm sie mit einer eigenen Inszenierung des „Tristan“ die vollständige Kontrolle. Sie schuf 1886 selbst das Bühnenbild, notierte die Angaben für Beleuchtung und alle weiteren Details, wobei sie sich aber immer mit den beiden vorherigen Inszenierungen im Einklang wusste, die Wagner in München 1865 und Berlin 1876 beaufsichtigt hatte. Darüber hinaus befasste sie sich intensiv mit den Partituren und stellte Überlegungen zum Bühnenbild sowie zu der Art des Singens und der Darstellung an. Dies als Eigensinnigkeit auszulegen, wie in Biographien nachzulesen ist, zeigt, dass ihr Geschlecht von vornherein den Erfolg erschwerte. Nach der Aufführung des „Parsifal“ 1888 stand fest, dass das Festspielhaus eine stabile Größe innerhalb Deutschlands geworden war und nicht mehr zur Disposition stand. 1886 scheiterte zwar die Einführung des modernen Rundhorizont-Systems noch, doch 1898 hatte sie schon entschieden, zusammen mit dem Bühnenbildner Max Brückner den von Wagner begeistert gefeierten „Zaubergarten“ des „Parsifal“ durch eine neue Dekoration zu ersetzen. Cosima nahm sich 1891 den „Tannhäuser“ vor und spürte alles auf, was auch nur entfernt mit dem Werk zu tun hatte. 1894 wurde „Lohengrin“ aufgeführt und in der Presse gut kommentiert. 1901 folgte der „Fliegende Holländer“, wobei sie keineswegs die Münchner Inszenierung von 1864 als Modell übernahm, da sie damals nicht voll ausgearbeitet worden war, sondern ihre eigenen inszenatorischen Überlegungen hinzufügte. 1906 brachte Cosima eine veränderte Fassung ihrer „Tristan“-Inszenierung heraus. Fabian Kern zufolge offenbaren die Quellen, dass sie durchaus den Aufbruch in die Moderne wagte. Sie beschränkte sich somit keineswegs auf das Kopieren alter Inszenierungen, sondern war offen für Neues.

    In 23-jähriger harter Arbeit mit insgesamt 220 Aufführungen gelang es ihr, Bayreuth zu einem Weltereignis zu machen. Wie Stephan Mösch überzeugend darlegt, hat sie bei der Regie das überzeitlich Symbolhafte herausgearbeitet und ist dabei gelegentlich über Wagners Regieanweisungen hinausgegangen. Dies lässt sich an Hans Knappertsbuschs früher Aufnahme des „Fliegenden Holländer“ heraushören ; er war von 1909 bis 1912 in Bayreuth Assistent, kannte also Cosima Wagners Anweisungen genau. Beim Ende des Duetts im II. Akt macht Wagner eine Art Schnitt, indem Daland auftritt und das Paar stört; Knappertsbusch übergeht diesen jedoch und schafft mit den ersten Takten des Allegro vivace eine Fortsetzung des Duetts. Dies hätte er ohne die Mitwirkung Cosima Wagners sicherlich nicht gewagt. Und sie hat mit ihrer Kürzung des „Rienzi“, den sie in Berlin inszenierte, aus dem „historischen Kolossalgemälde ein überzeitliches Symbol“ gemacht, wie sie überhaupt einerseits bestrebt war, Wagners Inszenierungen möglichst zu bewahren und andererseits der Handlung das Element des Allgemeingültigen, Symbolhaften, Kultischen zu verleihen. 1906 gab sie aus gesundheitlichen Gründen die Leitung der Festspiele an den Sohn Siegfried weiter. Ihr unerschütterlicher Einsatz für Richard Wagners Lebenswerk trug ihr 1910 die Ehrendoktorwürde der Berliner Universität ein. Als es 1913 zu einem Prozess kam, den Isolde, das erste Kind Wagners, betrieb, um auch ihren Sohn Franz Wilhelm Beidler als möglichen Erben in Bayreuth feststellen zu lassen, leugnete Cosima die Vaterschaft und weigerte sich, Isolde zu empfangen. Sie setzte Siegfried zum Alleinerben der Wagner-Dynastie ein, da Wagner kein Testament hinterlassen hatte. Sie betrieb auch die Sammlung von Dokumenten, Briefen und sonstigen Zeugnissen zu Richard Wagner, säuberte manches durch Verbrennen unliebsamer Dokumente (so ihren eigenen Briefwechsel mit Richard, seine Briefe an Mathilde Wesendonck und an seine erste Ehefrau Minna) und legte mit der Sammlung den Grundstock zum Archiv in der Villa Wahnfried, das später durch eine Stiftung größtenteils ins Richard-Wagner-Nationalarchiv überführt wurde. Sie und ihr Sohn Siegfried starben 1930 kurz nacheinander.

    Würdigung

    Ihre große kulturgeschichtliche Leistung bestand darin, schon 1884 – also ein Jahr nach Richard Wagners Tod – einen fünfjährigen Festspielplan zu entwerfen und ab 1886 Opern selber zu inszenieren, wodurch sie mit beispielloser Energie künstlerisch hochstehende Aufführungen gewährleistete und somit das Fortbestehen der Institution ermöglichte.

    Rezeption

    Cosima Wagners Bild ist noch immer überlagert von Hagiographik und von Hasstiraden gleichermaßen. So findet man sie einerseits idealisiert, auf ein Podest gestellt und verehrt, wie bei du Moulin-Eckart, Mollenkovitch-Morold sowie den rechtskonservativen Anhängern der „Bayreuther Blätter“ mitsamt deren Umfeld. Oder aber sie wird als hartes, machtbewusstes Wesen stilisiert, wenn man ihr eine „masochistische Persönlichkeitsstörung“ bescheinigt, sie also pathologisiert, wie es Oliver Hilmes in seiner Biographie tut (Hilmes 2007, S. 160). Hilmes läßt Cosima Wagners eigentliche Leistung, nämlich die Fortsetzung der Bayeuther Festspiele, weitgehend unbehandelt, ihm zufolge steigerte sie ihre Witwenschaft „ins Theatralische“ (Hilmes 2007, S. 280). Ihre fast sklavische Bereitschaft, sich Wagner hinzugeben und ihm zu folgen, verweist wiederum auf ihre Verinnerlichung der damaligen Frauenrolle. Sie kann aber auch beseelt gewesen sein von dem Wunsch, Wagners Erbe zu erhalten, denn als begnadete Musikerin hatte sie früh das außerordentliche Potential des musikgeschichtlich einmalig dastehenden Künstlers erkannt.

    Quellen

    Schriften Cosima Wagners


    Waldberg, Max Freiherr von (Hg.). Cosima Wagners Briefe an ihre Tochter Daniela von Bülow 1866-1885. Stuttgart/Berlin: K.G.Cotta’sche Buchhandlung Nachfolger 1933.


    Briefwechsel zwischen Cosima Wagner und Fürst Ernst zu Hohenlohe-Langenburg. Stuttgart: J.G.Cotta’sche Buchhandlung Nachfolger Stuttgart 1937.


    Gregor-Dellin, Martin/Mack, Dietrich (Hg.). Cosima Wagner. Die Tagebücher. Bd. I 1869-1877, Bd. II 1878-1883. München/Zürich: Piper 1976/77.

    Trenner, Franz (Hg.). Cosima Wagner – Richard Strauss. Ein Briefwechsel. Tutzing: Hans Schneider 1978.


    Mack, Dietrich (Hg.). Cosima Wagner. Das zweite Leben. München/Zürich: Piper 1980.


    Schad, Martina (Hg.). Cosima Wagner und Ludwig II. von Bayern: Briefe. Eine erstaunliche Korrespondenz. Bergisch-Gladbach: Gustav Lübbe 1996.


    Toltz, Maren Toltz/Müller, Herta (Hg.). Königin und Täubchen. Die Briefe von Cosima Wagner und Ellen Franz/Helene von Heldburg. München: Allitera 2014 (Beiträge zur Kulturgeschichte der Musik, Bd. 9).



    Biografien


    Moulin-Eckart, Richard du. Cosima Wagner. Ein Lebensbild zu ihrem 80. Geburtstage. Bayreuth: Gießel 1918.


    Richard Graf Du Moulin Eckart. Die Herrin von Bayreuth, Berlin 1931, Bd. II,


    Mollenkovich-Morold, Max. Cosima Wagner. Ein Lebensbild. Leipzig: Reclam 1937.


    Sutherland, Douglas. Cosima. Eine Biographie. Tübingen: Rainer Wunderlich Hermann Leins 1970.


    Skelton, Geoffrey. Richard und Cosima Wagner. Biographie einer Ehe. München: Heyne 1995. (Englisch: Richard and Cosima Wagner. London: Victor Gollancz 1982).


    Beidler, Franz Wilhelm Beidler. Cosima Wagner. Ein Porträt, hg. von Dieter Borchmeyer. Bielefeld: Pendragon 1997, 3. Aufl. Würzburg: Königshausen & Neumann 2011.


    Hilmes, Oliver. Herrin des Hügels. Das Leben der Cosima Wagner. München: Siedler 2007.



    Weitere Literatur


    Mösch, Stephan. Weihe Werkstatt Wirklichkeit. Wagners Parsifal in Bayreuth 1882-1933. Kassel et al.: Bärenreiter 2009.


    Kern, Fabian. Soeben gesehen. Bravo, Bravissimo. Die Coburger Theatermalerfamilie Brückner und ihre Beziehungen zu den Bayreuther Festspielen. Berlin: Gesellschaft für Theatergeschichte e.V. 2010.


    Mösch, Stephan. Cosimas Bayreuth (1886-1906). In: Wagner Handbuch, hg. von Laurenz Lütteken. Kassel et al.: Bärenreiter 2012, S. 470-478.


    Rieger, Eva. Die Tagebücher Cosima Wagners. In: Wagner Handbuch, hg. von Laurenz Lütteken. Kassel et al.: Bärenreiter 2012, S. 62-68.


    Beidler, Dagny (Hg.). Für Richard Wagner! Die „Rosenstöcke-Bilder“ seiner Tochter Isolde. Köln/Weimar/Wien: Böhlau 2013.

    Forschung

    Die wichtigste Forschungsstätte ist derzeit das Richard-Wagner-Nationalarchiv in Bayreuth, das Briefe, Schriftstücke, Bilder, Autographen, Material aus Familienbesitz und Dokumentationen besitzt, aber auch die Staatsbibliothek München hält mit dem Gravina-Nachlass sowie Nachlässen aus dem Umfeld Wagners einiges Material bereit. 1935 übergab Cosima Wagners Tochter Eva, verh. Chamberlain, ihre umfangreichen Tagebücher der Stadt Bayreuth „als Geschenk für die Richard-Wagner-Gedenkstätte“, allerdings noch mit strengen Vorbehalten. 1972 endete die Sperrfrist, und 1976 wurden die Tagebücher veröffentlicht, sie gehören zu den wichtigsten Quellen der Wagnerforschung.

    Forschungsbedarf

    Es ist zu wünschen, daß neue biografische Arbeiten ihre Leistungen als Regisseurin eingehender behandeln. Aus Genderperspektive fehlt eine neue Biografie, die Cosima Wagners restaurative Weltanschauung mit ihrer Bereitschaft, gesellschaftliche Konventionen fallen zu lassen, verbindet und kontextualisiert.

    Von ihren Briefen ist nur ein geringer Teil veröffentlicht worden. Hunderte von Briefen liegen unveröffentlicht vor allem im Bayreuther Richard-Wagner-Nationalarchiv sowie verstreut in zahlreichen Bibliotheken und Archiven. Während beispielsweise die Robert- und Clara Schumann-Forschung mit fortlaufend veröffentlichten Briefbänden vorankommt, stagniert die Forschung in Bayreuth, trotz der vorhandenen Bestände. So wäre eine Edition der Briefe Cosima Wagners an ihre Freundin, Gräfin Marie Schleinitz, zweifelsohne von Interesse für die Forschung.

    Ob ihr Antisemitismus, der in ihren privaten Briefen in penetranter Weise zum Ausdruck kommt, durch Richard Wagner verstärkt wurde oder von Kindheit und Jugend an vorhanden war, ist ebenfalls strittig. Es wird lange dauern, bis diese unselige Polarisierung – einerseits Verehrung, andererseits Verachtung – zu einer weniger einseitigen Darstellung führt. Der ursprüngliche feministische Impuls, wonach die Frauen stets die Opfer sind, ist jedenfalls obsolet und muss weiterer Forschung Platz machen.

    Normdaten

    Virtual International Authority File (VIAF): 39385271
    Deutsche Nationalbibliothek (GND): 118628232
    Library of Congress (LCCN): n50021342
    Wikipedia-Personensuche

    Autor/innen

    Eva Rieger, 31 July 2014

    Übersetzung: Chris Walton


    Bearbeitungsstand

    Redaktion: Regina Back (deutsche Fassung) und Meredith Nicollai (English version)
    Zuerst eingegeben am 02.09.2014
    Zuletzt bearbeitet am 19.04.2017


    Empfohlene Zitierweise

    Eva Rieger, Artikel „Cosima Wagner“, in: MUGI. Musikvermittlung und Genderforschung: Lexikon und multimediale Präsentationen, hg. von Beatrix Borchard und Nina Noeske, Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg, 2003ff. Stand vom 19.4.2017
    URL: http://mugi.hfmt-hamburg.de/Artikel/Cosima_Wagner